Mr. Kay's Blog

The day to day happenings of a 6th grade classroom teacher

  • In The Sixth Grade We Read

    Every week I take in how many pages each student has read. Below is the "Wall Of Fame", the top readers for the week, and "The 200+ Club", all the students who have read more than 200 pages in a week. Congratulations to all those mentioned!
  • Wall of Fame

  • The 200+ Club

  • Stat Counter

    wordpress visitor
  • Who has visited

  • Flags of Visitors

    free counters

(yes, what’s the title) Thursday

Posted by willkay on January 13, 2011


Nineteen out of twenty one homework notebooks signed.

We continued down the wonderful winding road that is percents. However, along the way we discovered that some of us have totally forgotten how to simplify fractions – eek! Onto science and a discussion of plate boundaries. It appears that soon Baja California will be somewhere up near Alaska, so start buying those winter coats. Oh, hang on, when I say soon I actually mean, soon in relation to the planet Earth. As far as you and I are concerned, it will be another 50 million years!

After recess I discovered that the sixth grade will be doing an assembly on January 31st. This will be a tragedy for Octavio, as he was hoping it would be on National Pie Day! It isn’t. After recess I also got to take the 2nd for a lesson. They now know that the moon is made of cheese! There I go again, pushing forward the boundaries of learning. To finish the day, we continued to read “Learning to Swim”. We also arrived at my all time favourite fact: every time you type in “Dead Sea” to Google, no matter where you go, you always end up with a picture of someone floating on their back, reading a newspaper. Genius!

English Word of the Day. Exqueetingly. Actually, this isn’t an English word at all. I might have been talking so fast that I mixed up exceedingly and exciting in my mouth and came out with exqueetingly. However, I don’t think anyone noticed, and I’m not sure that anyone reads this bit as it is not exqueetingly. [Can you see what I did there?]

Homework:

  • Maths: The questions in your homework diary. Let’s hope you took it home!
  • Writing Assignment: the middle bit of a story (by Friday)
  • Reading Log Numbers
  • Reading: you should be reading for 20 mins every night.
2 Responses to “(yes, what’s the title) Thursday”

  1. Miss Tere B said

    what? exqueeeee……. what?

  2. MA said

    After I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from
    now on whenever a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment.
    Perhaps there is a way you are able to remove me from that service?
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
